St. Cloud State’s Sundgren Named NSIC Wrestler of the Year

Constanzo Named NSIC Coach of the Year

St. Cloud State University senior John Sundgren (Blaine) has been voted by the league coaches as the 2010-11 Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference Wrestler of the Year.  He was joined in the NSIC spotlight by SCSU head coach Steve Costanzo, who was named the 2010-11 NSIC Coach of the Year.

Sundgren went 16-3 on the season and won the NCAA Division II National Championship at 157 pounds. He shut out Dillion Bera (26-8) of the University of Wisconsin-Parkside in a 4-0 decision in the championship round to claim the first SCSU wrestling national title since Gene Hanemann took the podium in 1995.

Before Hanemann, the last Husky wrestler to win a national title was Mike Rybak in 1967 (NAIA championships). Sundgren excelled during the national tournament winning his first match by fall, this second match 9-5 and his semifinal match 5-2. In the national championship match he revenged a loss to Bera from the NCAA Super Region #3 Championship two weeks earlier. Sundgren is the first SCSU wrestler to gain NSIC Wrestler of the Year honors.

Costanzo was also voted by his peers as the 2010-11 NSIC Wrestling Coach of the Year.   St. Cloud State enjoyed one of its best seasons in team history as they placed second in the nation at the 2011 NCAA Division II championships, won the 2011 NCAA Division II Super Region #3 title and set a team record with a 19-2 dual meet record in 2010-11.

The second place national finish was the highest national tournament finish for the Huskies in team history, and the Huskies also posted a solid third place finish at the elite NWCA National Duals in 2011. Coach Costanzo was also named the 2011 NCAA Division II Coach of the Year. His overall record at SCSU currently stands at 58-23.

SCSU athletes named to the 2010-11 All-NSIC First Team this winter included Sundgren, junior Eric Ellington (133), junior Tad Merritt (165), sophomore Shamus O’Grady (174) and sophomore Jake Kahnke (285).  Huskies earning All-NSIC Second Team notice this winter included senior Gabe Suarez (141) and junior Jacob D. Horn (149).

Trevor Franklin125So.Upper IowaSouth New Berlin, N.Y.
Eric Ellington133Jr.St. Cloud StateFairview Heights, Ill.
Jay Sherer141Sr.AugustanaColumbus, Neb.
Nate Herda149So.AugustanaRock Rapids, Iowa
John Sundgren157R-Sr.St. Cloud StateBlaine, Minn.
Tad Merritt165R-Jr.St. Cloud StateCanby, Minn.
Shamus O’Grady174R-So.St. Cloud StateCoon Rapids, Minn.
Aaron Norgren184Jr.Minnesota StateGood Thunder, Minn.
Ty Copsey197Sr.AugustanaGlenwood, Iowa
Jake Kahnke285R-SoSt. Cloud StateShakopee, Minn.


Al Meger125Sr.AugustanaOwatonna, Minn.
*Andy Forstner125Sr.Minnesota StateMadelia, Minn.
*Corey Ulmer125R-Jr.MSU MoorheadWishek, N.D.
Jason Jeremiason133Jr.AugustanaMarshall, Minn.
*Kyle Pedretti133R-Jr.Upper IowaMonona, Iowa
Gabriel Suarez141R-Sr.St. Cloud StateLas Vegas, Nev.
Jacob Horn149R-Jr.St. Cloud StateEphrata, Wash.
Marcus Edgington157Jr.AugustanaSioux City, Iowa
Gavin Nelson165Sr.AugustanaMissouri Valley, Iowa
Ben Becker174Sr.Minnesota StateFort Dodge, Iowa
*Mark Mueller174Sr.Upper IowaPostville, Iowa
Brady Anderson184So.U-MaryHamilton, Mont.
*Mitch Schultz184R-So.Upper IowaPostville, Iowa
Pat Mahan197Jr.Minnesota StateOwatonna, Minn.
*Carl Broghammer197R-Fr.Upper IowaManchester, Iowa
Matthew Meuleners285R-So.Northern StateNorwood Young America, Minn.

NSIC All-Conference Criteria     
The highest place-winner at the NCAA Regional Tournament from each weight class shall be named all-conference first team. The runner up will be named all-conference second team. *Also, any wrestler that earns NCAA All-American honors will also be recognized as second team all-conference.

St. Cloud State Wrestling Earns Division II Academic Honors

The St. Cloud State University wrestling team showed success on the mats this season with a runner-up finish at the 2011 NCAA Division II championships on March 11-12 in Kearney, Neb.  The Huskies’ second place finish this season is the best-ever finish at the national level by the Huskies since they program began in 1949-50.

SCSU’s athletic excellence this winter was equaled by the Huskies’ academic prowess as the squad ranked 12th in the country in the listing of the Division II Wrestling Coaches Association top 20 NCAA Division II All-Academic wrestling teams.  The Huskies posted a team grade point average of 3.154 this season.

The team grade point average is calculated by averaging the cumulative grade point average of 10 wrestlers from each team of which eight of those wrestlers must have competed in their team’s NCAA Division II national qualifying regional tournament.

On an individual basis, SCSU sophomore Jacob R. Horn (St. Michael-Albertville H.S.), sophomore Jacob Kahnke (Shakopee/Prior Lake H.S.) and senior John Sundgren (Blaine) were all selected to the 2010-11 Division II All-Academic Wrestling Team as first team selections.

SCSU redshirt freshman Chris Brassell (Park Ridge, Ill./Maine South H.S.) earned All-Academic second team status, while All-Academic Honorable Mention accolades were presented to senior Westy Hanson (Crookston), sophomore Trent Herold (East Bethel/St. Francis H.S.), junior Jacob D. Horn (Ephrata, Wash./H.S.), sophomore Josh Joriman (Lino Lakes/Centennial H.S.), senior Erik Rogness (Buffalo/H.S.) and redshirt freshman Zach Stewart (Green Bay, Wis./Ashwaubenon H.S.).

In order for a student-athlete to be nominated for the DII All-Academic team, the student-athlete must have a minimum 3.00 cumulative grade point average, and he must also be in at least his second full year at his school.

Jacob R. Horn was 23-11 for the Huskies at 149-pounds this season.  He is an electrical engineering major at SCSU.  Kahnke placed second in the nation at 285-pounds this winter and chalked up a 29-1 record this season for the Huskies.  A two-time Division II All-American, Kahnke is a sports management major at SCSU.

Sundgren captured first place in the 157-pound bracket at the 2011 NCAA Division II championships.  A four-time national qualifier and two-time All-American at SCSU, Sundgren charted a 16-3 record for the Huskies in 2010-11.  He is a marketing major at St. Cloud State.

Under the leadership of Coach Steve Costanzo, the 2011 NCAA Division II Coach of the Year, St. Cloud State posted a 19-2 overall record – which set a new team record for dual wins in a season.