Hanson, Becker, McDonald, and Joriman are MWCA Coaches of the Year

Every spring at tournament time coaches from each high school section vote for their respective Section Head and Assistant Coach of the Year. Head coach selections are then put on a ballot to be voted on by all coaches at the State Tournament for Class AAA, AA, and A Coach of the Year.

Continue reading →

Four Wrestlers Earn Their Second Title of the Weekend During the U15 Men’s Freestyle Nationals

St. Michael-Albertville’s Landon Robideau wins U15 Nationals

Wisconsin Dells, Wis. The U15 Nationals wrapped up this afternoon with the men’s freestyle finals. Four wrestlers doubled up, winning the freestyle tournament after earning Greco-Roman titles on Friday.

The tournament’s outstanding wrestler, Ladarion Lockett of Oklahoma was one of the four champions who claimed titles in both styles. Lockett, who teched his way into the finals, bested California’s Coby Merrill in the best-of-three 62 kg finals, two matches to none, 10-0 and 17-8.

Iowa’s Haakon Peterson was another wrestler who doubled up. Peterson battled through a hand injury he suffered in yesterday’s quarterfinals, to claim the 41 kg title over California’s Michael Romero in two-straight matches, 6-2 and 6-0. Continue reading at teamusa.org →