Turriff, Rathman, and McManus Earn All-America Honors at NCAA DII Wrestling Championships

St. Louis, Mo. — All three of Minnesota State’s wrestlers at the 2021 NCAA Division II Championships in St. Louis, Mo., are coming home as All-Americans.

Junior Trevor Turriff (De Pere, Wis.) placed second at 174, senior Kyle Rathman (Apple Valley, Minn.) placed seventh at 149 and senior Trenton McManus (Adams, Wis.) finished eighth at 125.

Turriff, who entered the national championship tournament seeded second at 174, downed sixth-seeded Adam Sams of Indianapolis in the semi-finals 9-7 Saturday afternoon to advance to the finals where he squared-off with top-seeded Abner Romero of Lindenwood in the national championship match. The undefeated Romero got off to an early lead in the match and never trailed in gaining an 8-2 victory over Turriff. The loss for Turriff is his first of the year and he completes the campaign with a final record of 11-1.

Continue reading →

Turriff Secures All-American Status in First Day Action at NCAA DII Championship; Rathman and McManus Both Still Alive

St. Louis, Mo. — All three Minnesota State wrestlers have advanced to the final day of action at the NCAA Division II Championships in St. Louis, Mo.

Junior Trevor Turriff (De Pere, Wis.), seeded second in the 174-lb. division, received a first-round bye before picking up a 5-4 decision over Max Bruss of U-Mary. Turriff, who has guaranteed himself All-American status with today’s results, stands 10-0 on the season and faces sixth-seeded Adam Sams of Indianapolis in tomorrow’s semi-final match.

Senior Kyle Rathman (Apple Valley, Minn.), seeded #2 at 149-lbs., opened the NCAA Championships with a 10-3 decision over Gabe Johnson of Central Oklahoma. In the second round, Rathman took on #7 Garrett Aldrich of St. Cloud State with Aldrich claiming a 6-4 win. Rathman rebounded to claim a 4-0 win over Logan Bailey of Indianapolis in the consolation round. Now 11-1 on the year, Rathman faces Ashland’s Carson Speelman in the consolation semifinals Saturday.

Continue reading →

Trio of Mavericks Head to National Championships this Weekend

Mankato, Minn. — A trio of Minnesota State wrestlers will travel to St. Louis, Mo., to take part in the NCAA Division II Wrestling Championships starting this Friday and concluding Saturday evening.

The three wrestlers representing the Mavericks at the tournament include Trenton McManus, Kyle Rathman and Trevor Turriff.

All three individuals qualified for last year’s national championship tournament, which was cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Continue reading →

Turriff Earns NSIC Elite 18 Award

Mankato, Minn. — Minnesota State’s Trevor Turriff was named the 2020-21 NSIC Elite 18 Award winner for wrestling.

Turriff joins Carah Drees (2021- WBB), Alex Goettl (2019 – FB), Amber Kral (2019 – SB), Maggie Knier (S&D 2017-18, 2018-19 & 2019-20) and Erica Ellstrom (S&D 2016-17) as NSIC Elite 18 Award winners from Minnesota State.

As part of the NSIC 25th Anniversary celebration, the NSIC Elite 18 Award was instituted to recognize the true essence of the student-athlete by honoring the individual who has reached the pinnacle of competition at the NSIC Championship level in his or her sport, while also achieving the highest academic standard among his or her peers. The NSIC Elite 18 award is presented to the student-athlete with the highest cumulative grade-point from the regular season championship team or an All-NSIC performer.

Continue reading →