Seven inducted into the 2014 Minnesota Chapter of The National Wrestling Hall of Fame

The National Wrestling Hall of Fame honored seven individuals at The Minnesota Chapter Banquet in Austin, Minn. on Saturday, May 3rd.

The Class of 2014 includes Al Olsen, Mike Bredeck, Charles “Buzz’ Cummins, Joe Frank, Bill E. Garland, Rodney Mosher, and Gary Rettke. Continue reading

Eight inducted into the 2014 Bartelma Minnesota Wrestling Hall of Fame

Benson, Minn. – Eight new members were inducted into the Minnesota Wrestling Coaches Association (MWCA) Dave Bartelma Hall of Fame on April 26th in Benson, Minnesota.

The new inductees honored were Perry Fink, Nate Hendrickson, Don Hunke, Ron Jacobson, Matt Nagel, Rick Rud, Jon Rhodes, and Randy Zimmer. Many past Hall of Fame inductees were in attendance. Continue reading

InterMat High School All-American Team announced

Benick is selected at 195 pounds

State tournaments across the country came to an end just over one month ago, and in some cases close to two months ago. Even so the last few weeks were pretty stock full of high-level competition with all-star matches and the various postseason national tournaments. With all of that in the books, the 2013-14 season/cycle has come to an end, and it’s time to wrap things up with a pretty little bow.

InterMat does so by naming its All-American team, a listing of the top-ranked wrestler at each weight class, along with the selection of the High School Wrestler of the Year. It marks the fourth such year of this end of season presentation format for InterMat. Continue reading at

Mark Hall named USA Wrestling Athlete of the Week

Mark Hall (Apple Valley, Minn./Minnesota Elite) has been named Wrestler of the Week.

Each week, will select an Athlete of the Week, based upon performance within wrestling for that week. The selection committee will consider any level of wrestling, from youth programs through the Senior level.

Hall led the Minnesota Elite to the team title at the National Scholastic Duals on Saturday at Wabash College in Crawsfordsville, Ind. Continue reading at

Monk Named WWC Wrestler of the Year, Kish Wins 2nd Straight Coach of the Year

OREM, Utah – As voted by its coaches, the Western Wrestling Conference has announced postseason award winners for the 2013-14 season. North Dakota State 165-pound senior Steven Monk was the unanimous WWC Wrestler of Year. Wyoming 184-pound redshirt freshman Benjamin Stroh was named WWC Freshman of the Year and North Dakota State head man Roger Kish was chosen by his peers as the WWC Coach of the Year.

The Wrestler of the Year and Freshman of the Year awards were voted on by the league’s head coaches this past week, while the Coach of the Year balloting was determined after the NCAA West Regional/WWC Tournament. Continue reading

Flynn, Robinson share InterMat Coach of the Year

Edinboro head wrestling coach Tim Flynn and Minnesota’s J Robinson have both been named InterMat Coach of the Year for 2014, the amateur wrestling website announced on Wednesday.

In nearly a decade of annual InterMat awards — with results based on votes of the website’s writers and management — there has never been a tie for first place in the Coach, Wrestler or Freshman of the Year balloting. Continue reading at